mEET THE FACULTY


  
  Dr. Darlene G. Colson
-- dgcolson@nsu.edu 

Click the link in Dr. Colson's name above to view her bio.


823-9440
   
  Dr. Joy Cooley
-- jacooley@nsu.edu

Dr. Joy Cooley earned her Psy. D. from the Virginia Consortium Program in Cinical Psychology. She obtained her M.S. from Virginia State University and her B.A. from The University of Virginia. She began service to Norfolk State University in 1989. Dr. Cooley values friendship, family, and laughter. She loves animals, especially dogs, movies, festivals, junk food, and mellow music.


823-9439  
   
  Dr. Ernestine Duncan
-- eduncan@nsu.edu


Dr. Duncan is Department Head. She earned her Ph.D. and M.A. degrees in Clinical Psychology from Georgia State University. Her undergraduate degree is from Oberlin College in Ohio. Dr. Duncan’s research interests include HIV/AIDS prevention in African Americans and her clinical interests include working with children with Attention Deficit Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD). She began teaching at Norfolk State University as an adjunct professor in 2001.
823-8310  
   
823-2228 
   
  Dr. Karen Holmes
-- kyholmes@nsu.edu

Dr. Holmes received her M.S. and Ph.D. in Social Psychology from Wayne State University. She began service to Norfolk State University in 2006. Her professional interests include examining issues related to perceived racism, coping and health outcomes in African Americans. Dr. Holmes is fascinated by the research process and is always eager to mentor motivated, serious-minded students.


823-9055  
    
    
  Dr. Barbara Shabazz
-- bfshabazz@nsu.edu

823-8573
    
  Dr. Ronald Thomas
-- rethomas@nsu.edu


Dr. Ronald Thomas received his Ph.D. from Boston University. He is a licensed clinical psychologist and his interests include community psychology, prevention, and substance abuse.


823-9058
    
  Dr. Karen B. White
-- kbwhite@nsu.edu



Dr. Karen B. White received her doctorate in clinical psychology from the Virginia Consortium Program for Professional Psychology, her master’s degree from NSU in community/clinical psychology and bachelor’s from North Carolina Central.


Dr. White is reality therapy certified. Her research interests include investigating the relationship between self-disclosure, intimacy, and satisfaction in African-American and European- American heterosexual relationships.
823-9057
 ADJUNCT FACULTY

Denise E. Biron, Psy.D. denibir@regent.edu

 

Angela Brown, M.A.

 

Barbara Rivera, M.A.

b.rivera@nsu.edu

 

Vickie Madison, M.A.

 

Catherine Mills, M.S.
c.mills@nsu.edu
 

Erika Simon, M.A. edsimon@nsu.edu